Minutes of the Organizational Meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Canadian Rockies School Division held on Tuesday, September 24, 2024 at 6:30 p.m at Central Board Office in Canmore

The meeting was held in a hybrid format. Participants were invited to attend face-to-face or via google meet. The meeting was recorded and the recording is posted on the division website.

Trustees Present: Arlene Rheaume, Brian Callaghan, Carol Picard, Luke Sunderland, Dale Craig

Administration Present:

- C. MacPhee, Superintendent
- D. McKibbin, Deputy Superintendent
- C. Jensen, Treasurer / Associate Superintendent
- K. Gregovic, Secretary / Associate Superintendent
- H. Holthuis, District Principal
- A Spanier, Communication Consultant
- J. Bowes, Executive Assistant

Recorder

1. Land Acknowledgment

2. Call to Order

The Treasurer/Associate Superintendent called the meeting to order at 6:33 p.m.

3. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

3.1. The Treasurer/Associate Superintendent called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee A. Rheaume nominated Trustee B. Callaghan for the position of Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

Cease Chair Nominations 929-2025 Motion: A. Rheaume Motion to cease nominations for the position of Board of Trustees Chair. Carried

> Trustee B. Callaghan accepted the position of Chair for the 2024-2025 Board of Trustees for Canadian Rockies Public Schools.

3.2. The Chair called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Board.

Trustee B. Callaghan nominated Trustee A. Rheaume for the position of Vice Chair. After a second and third call, there were no further nominations.

Cease Vice Chair Nominations 930-2025 Motion: B. Callaghan Motion to cease nominations for the position of Board of Trustees Vice Chair

Carried

Trustee A. Rheaume accepted the position of Vice Chair for the 2024-2025 Board of Trustees for Canadian Rockies Public Schools.

4. **Committee Representatives**

- 4.1. ASBA Zone 5 Representative and Alternate C. Picard will be the ASBA Zone 5 Representative; alternate D. Craig.
- 4.2. **PSBAA** Representative and Alternate B. Callaghan will be the representative for PSBAA; L. Sunderland accepted as the alternate.
- 4.3. Local Bargaining Committee B. Callaghan will be the representative to sit on the Local Bargaining Committee.
- 4.4. TEBA (Teachers Employer Bargaining Association) B. Callaghan will be the representative to sit on the Teachers Employer Bargaining Association Committee. Deputy Superintendent D. McKibbin, Treasurer/Associate Superintendent C. Jensen and/or Secretary/Associate Superintendent K. Gregovic will also sit on the Committee
- 4.5. TBAC (Teacher Board Advisory Committee) A. Rheaume will be the representative to sit on the Teacher Board Advisory Committee.
- 4.6. Audit Committee Entire Board will sit on the Audit Committee.
- 4.7. **Policy Review** D. Craig and A. Rheaume will be the representatives to sit on the Policy Review Committee along with representation from senior administration.
- 4.8. **Transportation Committee** Trustee D. Craig will sit on the transportation committee

Motion: A. Rheaume That the Board ratify the Committee appointments as indicated.

Carried

Adiourn

Committee Ratification

932-2025

931-2025

Motion: L. Sunderland That the meeting adjourn at 6:42 p.m.

Carried

B. Callaghan, Chair

C. Jensen, Treasurer/Associate Superintendent